Thursday, March 28, 2013

Call for Submissions: The bpNichol Chapbook Award 2013

ANNOUNCING: The bpNichol Chapbook Award 2013

“Small press is the guardian of literary culture and free speech.” – bpNichol

The bpNichol Chapbook Award recognizes excellence in Canadian poetry published in chapbook form. The prize is awarded to a poetry chapbook judged to be the best submitted. The author receives $2,000 and the publisher receives $500. Awarded continuously since 1986, the bpNichol Chapbook Award is currently administered by the Meet the Presses collective.

-- Interested authors or publishers should submit three copies of a chapbook of poetry in English published in Canada in 2012.
-- Chapbooks must contain no fewer than 10 pages and no more than 48 pages.
-- Submissions must include a brief CV of the author, plus the address, telephone number, and email address of both the author and publisher.
-- Send to: Meet the Presses / bpNichol Chapbook Award, 6249-2100 Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M6S 5A5
-- The closing date for submissions to the 2013 competition is July 1, 2013. (Submissions must be received by this date.)
-- The winner will be announced at the Meet the Presses Indie Literary Market in fall 2013.

The cash prize to the publisher is generously donated by writers Jim Smith and Brian Dedora. All chapbooks submitted will be archived at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library at the University of Toronto.

Please check the link here, or email Meet The Presses for more information:


Meet the Presses is a Toronto-based collective devoted to promoting micro, small and independent literary presses. This collective has come together in the spirit of the original Meet the Presses event launched in Toronto in the mid-1980s by Nicholas Power and Stuart Ross. Meet the Presses organizes a variety of curated public events, all focussing on independent publishers of fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction. Meet the Presses – an unfunded and non-profit collective – is comprised of Gary Barwin, Lucy Cappiello, Paul Dutton, Ally Fleming, Beth Follett, Hazel Millar, Leigh Nash, Nicholas Power, and Stuart Ross.

Chapbooks written by members of the Meet the Presses collective are ineligible for the award. Authors of chapbooks published by members of the collective remain eligible for the award.

No comments: